From The Vaults – Photos: Melvin Van Peebles Records For Heliocentrics

Now-Again | Sep. 30, 2014 | Photographs | , ,

This post was first put up in July of 2012.

It’s a bit embarrassing for us to admit that it’s been nearly four years since we announced the collaborative Heliocentrics/Melvin Van Peebles collaboration that was supposed to appear on the band’s Sirius B EP.

And, now, the band has just completed their latest album – which we’ll release later this fall (more on that later). And nary a Van Peebles gasp, growl or grunt in sight.

Well, good news – last week, in the middle of one of the worst heat waves that New York has seen in recent memory, a pajama-clad (and still ripped) Van Peebles entered ex-Sun Ra bandmember Spaceman’s Harlem-based studio and recorded his last takes on the rambling poem he’s entitled “Methane Momma.” Those files are on the way to Malcolm Catto and co. at the moment – and we promise (seriously this time) that they will figure in to the Heliocentrics next album, for which we’re projecting an early 2013 release.


Heliocentrics & Melvin Van Peebles – The Last Transmission

Now-Again | Jun. 7, 2014 | Catalog | ,

Buy it here.


Chapter 1 – Prologue 3.32
Chapter 2 – Big Bang Reincarnation 3.03
Chapter 3 – Searching For Signs Of Life 1.40
Chapter 4 – Blue Mist 1.53
Chapter 5 –The Cavern 3.43
Chapter 6 – Transformation (Pt. 1) 3.10
Chapter 7 – Transformation (Pt. 2) 2.12
Chapter 8 – Telepathic Routine 3.11
Chapter 9 – The Dance 3.59
Chapter 10 – Trust The Cosmos (Believe In The Universe) 3.47
Chatper 11 – Infinite List (Toss The Dice) 4.09
Chapter 12 – Epilogue 2.09

Music recorded, mixed and produced at Quatermass Sound Lab, London by Malcolm Catto and Jake Ferguson. Vocals recorded and mixed by Spaceman Patterson at Spaceman’s Studio, New York.
Executive Produced by Eothen Alapatt.
Music composed, arranged and performed by The Heliocentrics;
Lyrics composed and performed by Melvin Van Peebles.
Mastered by Guy Davie at Electric Mastering, London. Art direction by Errol Richardson. Photos by Eric Coleman.

All music arranged and performed by The Heliocentrics:
Malcolm Catto – Drums, Marimbula, Percussion, Additional Guitar and Piano
Jake Ferguson – Bass, Begena, Additional Guitar, Vibes and Piano
Jack Yglesias – Percussion, Kalimba, Flutes, Homemade Instruments and String Arrangements on “Collateral Damage”
Ade Owusu – Guitar, Thai Guitar, Effected Santur, Feedback and Koto
Ollie Parfitt – Piano, Keys and Electronic Effects
Tom Hodges – Electronica
Mike Burnham – Ring Mod Guitar on “Wrecking Ball”
Shabaka Hutchings – Bass Clarinet
Danny Keane – Cello
Raven – Violin

W/ Melvin Van Peebles – Vocals.

CD, LP, Deluxe LP and Digital. 2014. NA 5118 (Deluxe LP NA 4118).