Unreleased, heavy psych – Paternoster’s unreleased soundtrack, LP #10 in Now-Again Reserve

Now-Again | Apr. 26, 2018 | News |

The latest release in Now-Again’s Reserve Subscription series: The genesis of one of the world’s great rock albums: Austrian prog-psych masters Paternoster’s (whose self-titled album was Reserve Edition LP#1) soundtrack to Herbert Holba’s 1971 hippie sci-fi film Die ersten Tage (The First Days). Transferred directly from master tapes, never before released in any form. Shipping late July 2018.



The funkiest Zamrocker – Mike Nyoni and Born Free, LP#9 in Now-Again Reserve

Now-Again | Apr. 25, 2018 | News | , , ,

The latest release in Now-Again’s Reserve Subscription series is Zamrock musician Mike Nyoni and Born Free’s – My Own Thing: some of the funkiest music issued on the African continent in the 1970s. Bonus 2nd LP contains the groovy genesis of the Kalindula music Nyoni would master in the 80s… available only to subscribers. Shipping to subscribers now! Single LP version will be released to stores in early June.



David Axelrod’s Capitol Trilogy To See Reissue Via Now-Again – “Song Of Innocence” out now!

Now-Again | Apr. 20, 2018 | News | ,

Photo: David Axelrod, c. 1969, taken at Capitol Studios, Hollywood.

Legendary composer/Arranger/Producer David Axelrod’s essential trilogy on Capitol Records – Song of Innocence (1968), Songs of Experience (1969), and Earth Rot (1970) – will be officially reissued this year on Now-Again. “Song of Innocence” out now!

Guaranteed in stock at our web store at Rappcats: | DAVID AXELROD – SONG OF INNOCENCE

David Axelrod (1931-2017) was a producer, arranger and A&R at Capitol Records in Hollywood in the 1960s, working with artists Cannonball Adderley, Lou Rawls and David McCallum amongst others, alongside the infamous group of L.A. session musicians known as the Wrecking Crew. In 1967, for Reprise Records, Axelrod composed and “ghost-produced” the psychedelic rock album Mass In F Minor under the guise of The Electric Prunes. This surprise hit earned Axelrod a new audience, and the opportunity to release a string of albums under his own name back at Capitol.

His debut, Song of Innocence, is an essential, ‘60s masterpiece. Celebrated as psychedelic, the birth of jazz-fusion and the harbinger of hip-hop, the album is a hybrid that no one, not even its creator, can easily describe.


Announcing: Revolutionary, Spiritual Jazz – The Lightmen Plus One’s “Energy Control Center”

Now-Again | Apr. 18, 2018 | News | ,

Available via Vinyl Me, Please’s Classics Subscription – The Lightmen Plus One’s Energy Control Center

Revolutionary, spiritual jazz from Houston, the definitive, expanded reissue with previously unreleased tracks – the third in a series of four reissues of drummer and bandleader Bubbha Thomas’s lauded catalog.

Extensive book by Lance Scott Walker detailing Bubbha and this album’s story. Gatefold double LP.

Also see: The Lightmen Free As You Wanna Be and The Lightmen Plus One Fancy Pants

Also see: The Lightmen – Free As You Wanna Be

Drummer, bandleader and activist Bubbha Thomas had toured America with R&B revues, served as a session musician for Peacock and Back Beat Records, and played straight ahead jazz with legends before the political and social upheaval of the late 1960s led him to a path first charted by Coltrane. Fancy Pants is his second LP with his Lightmen band and, like the deep-set, maverick jazz issued by the likes of Tribe and Strata East, is amongst the best of the 1970s jazz underground, a collective voice of resistance to the musical and cultural status quo.


Announcing: The Monthly Digital Subscription

Now-Again | Apr. 17, 2018 | News |

Our proprietary digital subscription – every album, 7,” 12,” and EP sold on Rappcats – including all Now-Again titles – directly delivered to you as mp3 & WAV digital downloads. Periodic discount codes for purchases in the Rappcats store, giveaways and more…

Subscribe now to begin a one month free trial and receive our latest releases, and the last three releases in the Now-Again Reserve series – nearly 10 hours of music! After the one month trial ends you will receive each release as they become available, for the low cost of $10 / month.

Current release: Lloyd Miller and the Mike Johnson Quartet – Jazz at the University of Utah. Deep release from the master of Oriental Jazz.

Modal and Eastern Jazz by Spiritual Jazz maestro Lloyd Miller, originally issued in a run of 500 copies in 1967. This reissue was overseen by Miller and this release contains extensive booklet detailing Miller’s story by Francis Goding as well as video of late 60s performances.

Also delivered when you subscribe:
Ayalew Mesfin and the Black Lion Band
– The last treasure trove of 70s Ethiopian Funk.
The Lightmen – Revolutionary Spiritual Jazz from Houston, circa ’72.
Hunger – Incredible late ’60s West Coast psych rock.
Michael Cosmic & Phill Musra Group – Deep spiritual and free jazz.
German Oak – Dark, mysterious Krautrock – the first legitimate reissue.
Ngozi Family – Heavy Zamrock, featuring Chrissy Zebby Tembo.
Madlib Medicine Show 2 Flight To Brazil – A masterclass in digging for Brazilian grooves.


Upon subscribing, you will immediately get the above listed albums. And: (more…)

Next Page »