Out Now – Connie Price & The Keystones “Wildflowers” (Expanded Edition)

Now-Again | Mar. 2, 2016 | News | ,

Shipping at our webstore at Rappcats

“Connie Price and the Keystones are to be praised for their originality and brilliance.”
– Lalo Schifrin

Connie Price and the Keystones are the Los Angeles musical group whose 7” releases kickstarted the Now-Again label way back in 2002 – and whose Wildflowers album was the first full length release by a new band on the label. Way back then we called it “cinematic soul” and wouldn’t you know it – the originator of the style, Lalo Schifrin, himself agreed. Seriously. Read the quote above. It’s real.

Wildflowers contained contributions by the Heliocentrics’ producer/drummer Malcolm Catto and Poets of Rhythm/Whitefield Brothers/Karl Hector & The Malcouns founder/guitarist Jay Whitefield. Now that Now-Again is the home to the previous ensembles and more (artist albums by Seu Jorge, Chop, Fabiano do Nascimento and MRR-ADM have come out on the label), it seemed fitting to revisit where it all started, with an expanded version of the album that kickstarted it all.

Includes previously unreleased Malcolm Catto tracks – listen to “Hurricane Malcolm,” below – and tracks previously only available on out of print vinyl.

Peace – Black Power

Now-Again | Mar. 1, 2016 | Catalog |

Buy it here.


1. Black Power
2. I Have Got No Money
3. This Is The Time Now
4. I Need Mercy
5. Peaceful Man
6. Umbwalwa Ne Chamba
7. I Don’t Know
8. Get On The Way

Recording Information/Personnel:
Teddy Makombe (Lead guitar, lead vocals); Bruce Kaunda (rhythm guitar); Brower Machuta (Drums); Saul Manda (bass).
Original sessions produced by Edward Khuzayawo and Peace. Licensed, and all photos, courtesy Collins Makombe.

Originally released in 1975 on Zambia Music Parlour, ZMPL 17. Recorded at Malachite Film Studios, Chingola, Zambia in between 1973 and 1974 by unknown engineers, perhaps Geoff Kachusha Mulenga and Grayson Phiri.

This reissue produced, with liner notes, by Eothen Alapatt.
Additional contributions to liner notes from Leonard Koloko and Ben Phiri.
Restoration and remastering by Dave Cooley for Elysian Masters, Los Angeles.
Art direction by Errol Richardson.

LP, CD. NA 5130.

« Previous Page