Black Fire: Spiritual Jazz and Black Empowerment Through Music In The 1970s

5 legendary albums of Spiritual Jazz and Deep Funk. Via our web store at Rappcats.

This is the definitive reissue by Now-Again of five classic albums from the Black Fire record label. These 5 records are presented individually and as part of an obi-wrapped set that offers a value priced set of the albums. Limited edition, one time pressing.

Juju’s Live At The East 1973 and Experience Unlimited’s Free Yourself are shipping now. The others are pre-order with ship dates listed below.

Read more about the label: Black Fire – Spiritual Jazz and Black American Empowerment through Music in 1970s

Each album: Lacquered, most directly from master tape, by legendary Los Angeles mastering engineer Bernie Grundman. Packaged in a thick, tip-on sleeve and includes a unique, oversize booklet with extensive notes on each album, the Black Fire collective, and the musical and cultural revolution they created.

JUJU – LIVE AT THE EAST (1973) – shipping now. Previously unreleased live session recorded at the legendary Brooklyn venue in 1973.

1. (Struggle) Home (Plunky Nkabinde) 15:39
2. Soledad Brothers (Al-Hammel Rasul) 5:41
3. At Least We Have A Horizon Now (Al-Hammel Rasul) 6:22
4. Black Experience (Al-Hammel Rasul) 7:29

EXPERIENCE UNLIMITED – FREE YOURSELF (1977) – shipping now. The go-go band’s sought after debut album. Enriched funk.

1. It’s All Imagination (Clarence Smith)
2. Functus (Michael Hughes)
3. Peace Gone Away (Donald Fields)
4. Free Yourself (Gregory Elliot, Anthony Easton, Michael Hughes)
5. Hey You (Kenny St. Lewis, Max Kidd, Experience Unlimited)
6. People (Donald Fields)
7. Funky Consciousness (Experience Unlimited)

JUJU – CHAPTER TWO: NIA (1974) – shipping February 20. Essential Spiritual Jazz originally issued on the lauded Strata-East label.

1. Introduction (Juju) – 2:40
2. Contradiction (For Thulani) (Plunky Nkabinde) 5:10
3. Black Experience (Al-Hammel Rasul) 3:44
4. Nia (Poem: Complete The Circle) (Plunky Nkabinde, Ngoma Ya Uhuru) 8:36
5. The End Of The Butterfly King (Poem: Things Comin’ Along) (Lon Moshe, Ngoma Ya Uhuru) 6:10
6. Black Unity (Pharoah Sanders)* 15:58

ONENESS OF JUJU – SPACE JUNGLE LUV (1976) – shipping March 20. Oneness of Juju’s cosmic second album, featuring Joe Bonner.

1. River Luv Rite (Lon Moshe, Plunky Nkabinde, Muzi Nkabinde, Melvin Glover, Ronnie Toler, Eka-Ete, Allababa) 8:03
2. Follow Me (Plunky Nkabinde, Ronnie Toler, Eka-Ete) 4:57
3. Soul Love Now (Plunky Nkabinde, Muzi Nkabinde) 4:50
4. Space Jungle Funk (Melvin Glover, Plunky Nkabinde) 9:36
5. The Connection (Plunky Nkabinde) 3:18
6. Love’s Messenger (Melvin Glover, Eka-Ete) 3:07

ONENESS OF JUJU – AFRICAN RHYTHMS (1975) – shipping April 20. Oneness of Juju’s deep jazz/funk classic debut.

1. African Rhythms (Plunky Branch)
2. Kazi (Plunky Branch, Muzi Branch)
3. Funky Wood (Reginald Brisband, Babatunde)
4. Tarishi (Babatunde, Michael Lea)
5. Mashariki (Al-Hammel Rasul)
6. Chants (Folkloric)
7. Don’t Give Up (Joseph Bentley, Al-Hammel Rasul)
8. Incognito (Al-Hammel Rasul)
9. Poo Too (Plunky Branch, Muzi Branch)
10. Liberation Dues (Plunky Branch)


All of the above albums, packaged together in an oversized, wrap round OBI.

Posted in News