Out Now – Soul Cal: Disco and Modern Soul Masterpieces, 1971-1982.

Now-Again | Apr. 10, 2012 | News | ,

The definitive survey of America’s best, independent 70s soul-ensembles. 15 rare and unreleased tracks; 2LP or CD with 80-page book filled with rare photos and each band’s story. Out NOW.

A decade in the making, Soul Cal is the definitive survey of America’s best, independent, 70s soul-ensembles. Profiled within this album and book are the bands that transitioned from funk to disco; the bands that kept up the backbeat as rhythm moved to the backseat. Against the odds, they left recorded artifacts for we at Now-Again to dig out, dust off and restore. Collected here for the first time are the musical dreams of dozens, dreams that were deferred but were never discarded.

Soul Cal is presented as both a gatefold 2LP and a CD – both formats come with a perfect-bound, 80 page book printed on heavyweight, uncoated paper stock. Photos of each format are presented below; you can also download Luther Davis’ “You Can Be A Star” – the song whose reissue kick started the Soul Cal series ten years ago.

Buy: Soul Cal
Download: Luther Davis “You Can Be A Star.”

16 Responses to “Out Now – Soul Cal: Disco and Modern Soul Masterpieces, 1971-1982.”

  1. darren says:

    Hey, delighted to hear this, got all the 12″ but ill still grab it for sure, just wondering where I can find one of those soul cal t-shirts…if there still in rotation, been looking for way to long now???

  2. Egon says:

    We’ve been talking about relaunching those! Also, this anthology will have an extra two tracks that weren’t part of the original 12″ series.

  3. You did the right thing says:

    Long time waited, I’m happy to know it finally gonna happen. There’s no merchandising for Now-Again Records, I’d love to wear a Psych shirt by Jeff Jank!

  4. Hell Yeah! says:

    Already crossing my fingers for a volume 2.

  5. Erik Steaggles says:

    Looks amazing! Love the Soul Cal series! Will it be easy to get in the UK?

  6. Egon says:

    Yes, this will be available in both formats in the UK (and the rest of the world). Digitally also. As to a volume two – damn, don’t know if we have another decade to spend but there sure are a lot of great tracks we had to leave off…

  7. Lil Timmy says:

    I’m disappointed the B-sides from the 12″s aren’t included, since the B-side of the Pure Essence 12″ is better than the A-side. Y’all should reissue that 12″ for sure, I need doubles to DJ with.

  8. darren says:

    Thanks for the info Egon…hopefully those soul cal t’s will surface….Seriously love the Soul Cal label

  9. Luke says:

    Oh eff yes!

  10. […] pictures of the CD and vinyl versions along with the accompanying book can be seen over on Now Again’s official site. This is just a sign of things to come for the label this year in terms of expanding beyond […]

  11. Alaka says:

    Still waiting for the free download with the LPs ;)…

    Anyway great job & many thanks @ Now Again Staff,awesome as usual !

  12. Chris says:

    Where do you get the book and CD?

  13. Heldopen says:

    Great job guys – INCREDIBLE comp & book!!
    Looking forward to Volume 2+++ with tracks left off Volume 1. :)

  14. rea rea says:

    Freedom Express Band….my dad was part of this band & the only pic we had was destroyed….we were able to find his music last week on the internet being we have done this but came up empty handed….now I’m hoping to try one last time to be able to see him again if he’s not already gone or find out who my family on his side is….its crazy how I can see his face in pics but can’t get a hold of him can anyone help….thanks in advance

Leave a Reply