Announcing: Enjoy The Experience

Now-Again | Mar. 16, 2013 | News |

Selections from the Sinecure Books publication Enjoy The Experience: psych, funk, folk, jazz, lounge, boogie and straight-up-weirdness from American private press albums. Release date: May 21st.

Enjoy The Experience: Homemade Records 1958-1992 is the inaugural offering from Sinecure Books, the publishing company that Now-Again’s Egon co-founded with Johan Kugelberg. Packaged as a hardcover, and weighing in at 512 pages, it is the most comprehensive overview of the American “private press” movement from the latter half of the 20th Century that could possibly be assembled. We’re pleased to be distributing a 2CD/2LP anthology of psych, funk, folk, jazz, lounge, disco, boogie and just-plain-weirdness culled from the the book’s selections.

Take note: this is not a novelty freak show. Contained in this anthology are examples of some of the most highly regarded rock, soul, jazz, funk and singer/songwriter albums from the 60s through the early 80s. From the awkward-yet-talented to the genius-yet-bizarre, one thing unites all musicians presented here: they sincerely hoped to become stars, they committed themselves to record, and they left themselves vulnerable to an industry not understanding of nuance, not appreciative of character. While Enjoy The Experience the book details a forceful American cultural experience that stands in juxtaposition to the mainstream even as its creators attempted to infiltrate it, Enjoy The Experience the album shows the breadth of American creativity in a compelling, start-to-finish listen. Not all of it is easy to digest, but this music is essential to the 20th century American experience.

We will be updating this post with more information about the anthology, downloads and the book in coming weeks.

14 Responses to “Announcing: Enjoy The Experience”

  1. spaceboy says:

    Pre-ordered the book today, can’t wait! Looking forward to this as well.

  2. 69 says:

    Hey Egon, what version of the book comes with pre-order?
    Hardcover or softcover? (I noticed pics of both on site)
    Thanks. Can’t wait.

  3. Lawdrone says:

    Will this also be part of the Now Again Deluxe subscription?

  4. Now-Again says:

    Yes, it shall.

  5. […] music to the covers, you will find on vinyl & 2CD – of course –  on the NowAgain […]

  6. […] Johan:  Yep.  The book comes with a bunch of downloads, there’s also a list of our favorite jams in the book where you can Google or YouTube and find the music, there’s also a double CD double LP anthology released by Sinecure Books and Now-Again Records. […]

  7. ed says:

    I tried to get this book from my library system and there is not a single library in the chicago area that has it – thats bull crap!

  8. […] lyrics, date or musicians listed. What is known (through the collected research of the excellent Enjoy Your Experience: Homemade Recordings 1958-1992 compilation, distributed by Now-Again Records) is that Oehrig hired union studio musicians to accompany his […]

  9. Galen says:

    Seattle Public Library has it. Thanks baby Jesus.

  10. Tom says:

    How come that one of the coolest tracks of this compilation is not included on vinyl version? I’m talking about Cleo McNett’s “Snap” ofcourse. Any plans to re-issue this track on separate vinyl by Now-Again?

    Anyway, not to find this track from my recently purchased vinyl became a huge disappointment for me:(

  11. Now-Again says:

    That’s a major oversight on our part, Tom – sorry! I love that track. Don’t know how we edited that one, of all of the ones we could have edited….

  12. オメガ 時計 レディース

  13. Thank you for another excellent article. The place else
    may just anybody get that type of information in such
    an ideal means of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m at the look for such info.

  14. sbobet says:

    This entry was posted on Tuesday, June 8th, 2010 at 9:37 pm and is filed under Uncategorized . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply