Paul Ortiz Y La Orquesta Son – Los Que Son

Buy it here

Buy Ghetto Records Bundle here

Limited-edition vinyl box set featuring seven revered, and rarely heard gems of Latin jazz, deep soul, raucous boogaloo, and heavy salsa. Produced in collaboration with Now-Again Records and Vinyl Me Please, The Story of Ghetto Records takes listeners on an immersive experience through the brief but bright story of a groundbreaking Latin music label.


A1 – Son Los Que Son
A2 – Despierta Puertoriqueno
A3 – Total
A4 – Mi Amiga
B1 – Tender Love
B2 – Mi Negra Va A Gozar
B3 – Guajiron
B4 – Quien Quita


Paul Ortiz – Piano & Leader
Jose Madera Jr. – Timbs
Tito Quinones – Bass & Chorus
Richie Fernandez – Trumpet
George Asencio – Trumpet & Fluegelhorn
Julio Diaz – Trumpet & Fluegelhorn
Tony Borgas – Bongos & Chorus
Eddie Rivera – Conga
Vocals – Papo Felix
Produced By Joe Bataan
Arranged & Conducted by Jose Madera Jr
Photos by George Febo
Album Design & Illustration by Ray Mulett & Izzy Sanabria

Produced for Reissue by Eothen Alapatt & Vinyl Me Please
Liner Notes & Podcast Series by Pablo E. Yglesias
Restoration and remastering by Jason Bitner
Lacquers for all titles (except for Drug Story) were cut by Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering. All seven titles are pressed on exclusive 180g black vinyl at GZ.

Now-Again X Vinyl Me, Please Limited release.

LP, Digital. 2022. NA 5231.