Phil Ranelin – The Time Is Now!

Buy it here

Now-Again presents the definitive Tribe Records reissues. The Time Is Now is Tribe co-founder Ranelin’s debut album, lacquered directly from his master tapes in an all analog transfer by Bernie Grundman.


A1 The Time Is Now For Change 14:31
A2 Time Is Running Out 4:33
B1 Of Times Gone By 8:43
B2 Black Destiny 4:06
B3 13th & Senate 6:06
B4 He The One We All Knew (Part 1) 2:40


Written-By, Arranged By, Producer, Liner Notes, Trombone, Percussion – Phil Ranelin
Tenor Saxophone, Percussion – Wendell Harrison (tracks: A1 to B3)
Piano, Percussion – Keith Vreeland
Flugelhorn, Percussion – Marcus Belgrave (tracks: A1 to B3)
Bass – John Dana (tracks: A1, B1 to B4)
Drums, Percussion [Left Channel] – Bili Turner*
Drums, Percussion [Right Channel] – George Davidson (tracks: A1, B1 to B4)
Engineer, Recorded By, Mixed By – Bob MeLoche

Producer [for reissue] – Eothen Alapatt
Lacquer Cut By – Bernie Grundman
Layout [Typesetting & Layout] – Carolyn V. Crawford*
Photography By – Hugh Grannom, Marcus Belgrave, Norm Snyder*
Artwork [Cover] – Bili Turner*
Artwork [restoration and layout] – Errol F. Richardson
Design [Album] – Bili Turner*, Phil Ranelin

Individual release of the same mastering as the edition for the Now-Again Records & Vinyl Me Please, Anthology boxset, “The Story of Tribe Records.”

Lp, Digital. 2022. NA 5211.