Galt MacDermot – Woman Is Sweeter

Buy it here

The definitive reissue of HAIR composer Galt MacDermot’s quirky masterwork, the impressionistic soundtrack of filmmaker and photographer Martine Barrat’s film for designer Yves St. Laurent. Lacquered by Bernie Grundman in an all-analog transfer from the original master tape. Contains extensive oversized book with an essay on MacDermot’s life in music by his long time friend and Now-Again Records’ founder Eothen Alapatt; unpublished and rare photos. Officially-sanctioned Record Store Day release from Now-Again Records.


1. Tango
2. Fragments IA
3. Fragments IB
4. Fragments II
5. Bass
6. Cathedral
7. Woman Is Sweeter
8. Moving Clothes
9. Bathtub
10. Radio Rock
11. Princess Gika
12. Merry-Go-Round
13. Space
14. Perfume Bottles


Galt MacDermot – keyboards
Bernard Purdie and Idris Muhammad – drums
Jimmy Lewis – bass
Charlie Brown – guitar
unknown violinist


Produced for reissue by Eothen Alapatt.
Art direction and layout by Errol Richardson.
All-analog lacquer master/cut: Bernie Grundman.
Tape restoration: Dan Johnson.
Licensed from MacDermot Music, with thanks to Vincent and MaryAnne MacDermot.
Original sessions produced by Galt MacDermot and others.

LP, Digital. 2023. NA5242.